2012 Thermo Scientific Pierce Scholarship Winners Announced

  • Email
  • Print

Furthers Educational Opportunities for Future Scientists; 2013 Call for Applicants Now Open

Rockford, IL., (October 2, 2012) –Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc., the world leader in serving science, today announced the 2012 winners of the Thermo Scientific Pierce Scholarship, a program that provides educational opportunities and $40,000 in scholarships to the future generation of scientists. The Thermo Scientific Pierce Scholarship program is now seeking applicants for the 2013 scholarship awards.

The Thermo Scientific Pierce Scholarship program is open to graduate or undergraduate students studying biology, chemistry, biochemistry or a related life science field. Applicants were required to demonstrate academic skills along with how their passion for science transcends the lab. The six winners of the 2012 scholarships include:

  • Erik Schieda, Duke University – winner of $10,000
  • Taylor Krebs, Boston University – winner of $10,000
  • Nigel Reuel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology – winner of $5,000
  • Jonathan Tsai, Stanford University – winner of $5,000
  • Shannamar Dewey, University of California, Davis – winner of $5,000
  • Priya Pathak, University of Wisconsin-Madison – winner of $5,000

“We want to congratulate the 2012 winners on their accomplishments,” said Jeff Lee, commercial director for immunoassay products, Thermo Fisher Scientific. “The Thermo Scientific Pierce Scholarship invests in the future of scientists and we anticipate that many of these winners will soon be driving new discoveries and making a positive impact on the community. Based on the high caliber of achievement from our 2012 winners, we look forward to our 2013 applicants.”

Applications and scholarship award criteria can be found at https://www.pierce-antibodies.com/PierceScholarship/.

The program includes two $10,000 scholarships and four $5,000 scholarships for the 2013-2014 academic year. To qualify for the scholarship, students must have a GPA of 3.0 or higher (on a 4.0 scale) and be enrolled at an accredited college or university for the fall 2013 semester in an undergraduate or graduate program. They must also be legal U.S residents. The deadline for applications is December 14, 2012, and award recipients will be notified in January 2013.

  • <<
  • >>